Fez – The video game


This is a cute little indie game by Polytron Corporation. It’s a download-only game available for Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, Microsoft Windows, GNU/Linux, Mac OS. So anyone can play this game!

To sum up the story, there’s this adorable little guy, all white and cute like a walking marshmallow, named Gomez. He’s told by an elder that the universe is fragmenting, and only Gomez can save their world. He’s given a red fez hat, and with this hat, his formerly 2 dimensional world is suddenly revealed to be one of four sides in a 3 dimensional world. In order to save his world, he must go through it and collect gold (or are they yellow) cubes and fragments of cubes to restore the universe. Throughout his world there are codes, glyphs, treasure chests, maps, secret rooms, and even coded alphabets to cypher and discover. There are no enemies, bosses, or punishments for failures. If you fall off a ledge, Gomez simply spawns right back on the ledge which is a nice change of pace.

When I first tried this game, it was the demo. I really like its simplicity, the pixelated art-style, the colour palette, and the gameplay. I didn’t hesitate to buy the game, and I think I only paid $10 or $14. This game is so fun. You can just stop and smell the flowers going about collecting cubes. The only time it gets complicated is when you want to progress and complete this game to 100% completion. At some point Gomez (and you, the player) will have to solve all the codes and glyphs. Personally, I think it’s worth completing the main game and redoing the game in New Game plus. When Gomez reappears, he gets cool black sunglasses that allow him to read 3D, and he can fly. The flying is the best part!! There’s one level that’s all black. I believe it has two or three doors leading to different areas. Anyway, the steps Gomez must take are in sync with the level’s music, which I might add is quite fab. I won’t say more to spoil it for you.

The last time I played this, I was already halfway through new game plus, making quite some progress. I was more than 70% done the game. I was climbing down this vine and thought it’d be a good idea to check my map at the same time. The game froze, but not just that, so did my console. I had to restart the entire Playstation. When I rebooted the game I lost my save file and all that progress!!! So if you’re a Playstation Plus user, I highly recommend you upload your saves to the cloud because you might end up where I am. I’ve read online that this can happen… losing a save file. Better be safe than sorry. I was so upset! I restarted the game but only managed maybe halfway through the main game. I’ll get back to it someday to finish it again. 🙂

Here’s a peek at the map for Fez:

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 5.54.00 PM

Don’t let this intimidate you!! 🙂 It’s really not as bad as you think…. But at least now you know Fez isn’t just a tiny game that’ll take you 6 hours to complete.

I really love this game. So let’s see….

What do I love about this game?

  • Everything!!!! The characters, colours, originality, even the in-game music.

What do I dislike about this game?

  • It was too easy to corrupt my save file. I feel like there wasn’t enough quality assurance functionality testing on this.
  • It’s not apparent what the Fez-world alphabet is, and I had to go to the internet to find someone who had the answer. This  means that some of the puzzles can be really tough.

Overall, I really love this game, and I highly recommend you give it a try. If you do buy it, let Gomez just stand there for a moment, and watch how cute he becomes when he gets bored and curls up on the spot to take a quick nap.

I give this game a 5 out 5 star rating!

4 thoughts on “Fez – The video game

Leave a Reply

