Tomb Raider – The video game


I had a lot of fun playing Tomb Raider. I really enjoyed the movies, and when I had bought my PS3 and saw that there was a new Tomb Raider game, I was all over that.

Tomb Raider is a reboot with the all-too-famous character Lara Croft. It’s presented in a third-person perspective. The story kicks off with Lara as an ambitious archaeology graduate who convinces the Nishimura family to fund an expedition in search of the kingdom of Yamatai, just off the coast of Japan. As you probably suspect, the ship hits some very turbulent weather and water, and is shipwrecked on the island, but the group is separated. Lara has to find her way to the rest of her group, and of course runs into some bad guys that are , surprise surprise, part of a malevolent cult.

While playing this game, I really noticed how lovely the graphics were. The deer Lara could stalk, or the beautiful mountains when she was rock climbing to get to her destination. Throughout the game she’d find tools or weapons. Her standard set was a rock climbing pick/axe, and a bow and arrow, and whatever guns she might have salvaged around the island. The combat portion of the game was similar to that of Uncharted such as free use of the bow, or stealth attacks. I did like the fast travel elements. If Lara happened to be in a mountainous area, and near a campsite, she could travel to another campsite she previously visited in the blink of an eye. Ok, maybe a little slower than that, but it was certainly easier than getting there on foot.

There are also some RPG elements incorporated into the game. As you progress, you earn experience points from doing certain things or actions, completing challenges with hunting, combat or exploring and this allows you, the player, to upgrade said skills Lara will have in the options menu. Over time she becomes a better fighter etc..

There are side missions she can complete, tombs to raid, and even multiplayer mode (which I haven’t tried).  Now that I think about it, I don’t even remember the side missions. I guess I’ll have to play it again. I plan on it, since I only got a 48% completion (mostly just trophies). There was a sort of urgency in the main game that had me running to the next objective because I forgot that the person who was in trouble wasn’t going to die if I didn’t rush right there. I played as if it were all in real time. HAHA I think my next time around, I’ll take it easier, and do a lot more exploring. Upon further research, there is no New Game Plus option where you keep your upgrades, and run through the story again. I could finish gathering all the collectibles and so forth, but honestly it’s more of a what’s the point of that if there isn’t a main story to go along with it. To me a game is all about the story and not about getting all the trophies.

What I liked about the game:

  • The graphics – they were gorgeous
  • The story, and the setting. I’m a HUGE Japanese fan. I even travelled to Japan!
  • Lara is the protagonist. A woman who can kick ass and is beautiful? Yes.
  • This game has a lot of replayability. I definitely want to play it again someday.

What I disliked about the game:

  • It’s unrealistic for a woman (or any person) to be in a tank top in all sorts of cold, rainy weather and not die of exposure. It really bothered me when she was in the snowy areas of the mountains, and in a tank top.
  • I found a blocker in one tomb when I played. I had to jump on a suspended block and then jump toward a rock wall and use the pick to “grab” onto it. But when I got there I found that I couldn’t jump off the block as I had hoped (or how the game intended it), and could only hang off the ledge. I got frustrated so I left the tomb. It bugged me for a bit so I checked around and found a forum with other people experiencing the same issue. They suggested just restarting the checkpoint. What’s funny is that as a video game tester, I hadn’t thought of that. HAHA I don’t play my video games to break them. Other than this blocker, I really can’t find anything else disliked about this game.

My rating? 4 out of 5 stars.

I hope you enjoy it! Cheers!

Bitchin’ Gaming Girl

2 thoughts on “Tomb Raider – The video game

Leave a Reply

