Dead Space – Necromorphs and nasties.

Dead Space was a very strange game to me when I first played it. Isaac, the ship’s systems engineer doesn’t have a speaking role in this game. I was told by others that it really helps you to connect with the character. I can see how this works.

The story takes place in 2508 where a “planetcracker” ship called the USG Ishimura has sent out a distress call, and the USG Kellion is sent out to investigate. After a guidance system malfunction crashes the Kellion into the Ishimura dock, the crew tries to seek other means of transport. They quickly realize that the ship has been overrun by necromorphs, and they are infecting the whole ship as well as re-animating the dead crew. Exciting events happen later on in the game, events which I will not mention as 1) I’m only in Chapter 7 and 2) I don’t want to spoil it for anyone.

The first time I played it, it was on the Medium difficulty. I’m not like most gamers. I don’t play a game the first time around on the hardest difficulty. For me, the reason I play video games is for the stories. And I want to enjoy the story too, so I play it on easy. It doesn’t make me less of a gamer, it just means I don’t want to be banging my head against the wall because it took me forever (and many deaths) to get past certain sections. And that’s what happened on Medium. I got to the beginning of Chapter 5 where I was locked in a room with a necromorph who had renewable limbs and could not die, and about 5 others. By the time I reached this room I was out of ammo. I even tried loading a few saves back and buying more, but I ended up even further from that room without ammo. The only thing I could do now was delete my save file and try again, so I did that. I started again on easy and now I’m enjoying myself much more. 🙂

I wanted this time around to be different, so I went to the advice of the interwebs for weapon suggestions. I bought the Pulse Rifle, the Ripper, and the Contact beam. I barely use the last two, so I gather as much ammo as I can, and sell it to buy nodes. Nodes are important to upgrade your weapons. I’ve fully upgraded the damage to my Plasma Cutter (the first weapon you are equipped with), and one shot to the legs of most necromorphs kills them, which is pretty awesome. This saves me on ammo. The Contact beam ammo sells for $4000 each, which adds up quickly. The Ripper sells for slightly less, around $3250 or $3750 and if you don’t need it, selling it makes sense (or saving it for later). In short, if you want to excel in this game buy the Pulse Rifle, the Ripper, and the Contact beam. Having these fully upgrades for NG+ will be a life saver.

Weapons aside, never in my life have I ever want a video game character to die as much as Kendra. She’s so whiny and so disrespectful of Hammond, the commander, that I want her shut up and die. She does seem to disappear near the beginning of the game, but sadly she lives after all. I really want to punch her in the face.

Things I liked about this game:

  • It can be pretty creepy, what with all the sounds and voices you hear while walking through the corridors.
  • Sneaky necromorphs play dead in hallways, so it’s always advisable to shoot them before getting too close. Also, shooting human corpses and dismembering them saves them from being re-animated by facehugger necromorphs which transform them.
  • Necromorphs drop ammo or money based on the weapons you are actively carrying.
  • You can upgrade Isaac’s rig and weapons, and they carry over to new game plus.
  • Doesn’t have an online/multiplayer option so it’s easier to get all the trophies.
  • It’s a third person view.
  • It has good replayability because the player can play new game plus with all their upgraded weapons, and collect more for other trophies.
  • There are up to 5 cheats for this game: http://deadspace.wikia.com/wiki/Cheats_in_Dead_Space

Things I disliked about this game:

  • Kendra
  • Nodes are expensive. They’re worth $10,000 a pop, and that’s why I carry a Contact beam weapon.
  • The asteroid shooting section. The right stick sensitivity sucks and the first time through it took me nearly 20 times before I beat that section. It can be hard to see and aim at those asteroids.
  • You can’t change the difficulty setting once you’ve chosen it and started a new game. You have to restart from the very beginning.

My star rating? 3.5 out of 5.

Overall it’s a good game, and I’m looking forward to playing Dead Space 2 where Isaac actually speaks. I say if you like survival horror games, this is one to try.

Cheers!

Bitchin’ Gamer Girl

Leave a Reply

