Remember Me – Neo-Paris in 2084

Let me begin by saying you should never let bad reviews dictate whether you should play a game or not. For months, this is exactly what I did. I had read on Metacritic that the combat was lame, and didn’t allow for much customization (I think), etc.. And so for the few months following the purchase of my Playstation 3, I avoided this game. Then one day I decided to check out the gameplay on YouTube, and a bit of the story, and I told myself fuck it. I’m just going to buy the game. I’d buy it used, and if it wasn’t great, I’d lose no more than $15. I searched in stores, but it wasn’t available anywhere. I found a copy on Amazon. When it arrived in the mail, I was very excited to play. And do you know what? It was worth the money. I really enjoyed the game!

Remember Me is a futuristic, sci-fi action adventure game set in the year 2084, in a futuristic version of Paris called Neo-Paris. Nearly the entire population has a Sensen implant in the back of their neck which allows them to share their memories online, as well as removing unpleasant ones. Unfortunately, the Memorize corporation can control the population and survey them. As a result, a group of rebels formed under the name “Errorists,” and their mission is to bring down Memorize. The Sensen invention also created Leapers who’ve mutated into a subhuman form, living in the sewers, who are sadly memory-addicted, which has degraded their bodies to who they are now.

Nilin, the protagonist, is such an Errorist. She was imprisoned in the Bastille Fortress, and most of her memories were wiped by Memorize. A mysterious man named Edge helps her to escape. This is where the game begins. At first you’re not too sure where she is, or why she’s the way she is.

Remember Me introduces the mechanic of ‘memory remixing’: entering and rearranging a target’s memories to manipulate them. This part is fairly neat. The player can interact with certain objects, or Remembranes, in the memory, and then when it replays the target will react different based on what was changed in the memory. There is a certain way to get the objective, but it’s sometimes through trial and error.

In terms of combat, the game allows players to create and customize their own move combos in the Combo Lab, which uses fighting moves called Pressens that players can reorganize by creating chains, earned through gaining PMP (Procedural Mastering Power), with a limit of four combos being active at any one time. Evidently there are at least 50,000 possible Pressen combinations, so combat can be more fun. During gameplay certain there are special moves, S-Pressens, which are made available to the player through the course of the game: the moves enabling them to do things like stun groups of enemies, move at high speed and land more hits, or turn hostile robots into allies which then self-destruct. The Pressen combos can be modified to produce extraordinary moves, and help reset S-Pressens so they can be used over and over again. Just like anything, everything is earned as the game progresses. The player can build their combos, and as more unlock, combos can be re-made to be better.

During my playthrough, I made combos that regenerated a lot of health and high cooldowns so I wouldn’t have to wait for the countdown to reset my S-Pressen which can be nearly 3 minutes. And 3 minutes of just hand to hand combat with the Leapers can suck balls. By the time I was close to the end, my combos were so long that I could maintain a bit of health and reduce my cooldown by half. But the button combination was crazy!! And if you’re in the middle of doing a combo move, especially a long one, and a Leaper hits you, you have to start that combo from the beginning! So there’s a lot of evading happening, and trying to continuously hit one Leaper to complete said move. I thought that was both neat and frustrating.

This game was a win for me. Not only does it take place in a future, but the story is good, the fighting is challenging, and I thoroughly enjoyed a female as the protagonist.

Things that I liked about this game:

  • Memory remixing – A very neat part of the game
  • The story – I love all sci-fi / futuristic ideas. Th
  • Create your own combos! Yeah!
  • New Game Plus: You get to keep everything, except the S-Pressens which are unlocked during certain chapters. And PMP is gained in NG+ by destroying Scaramechs (a white pest).
  • It’s definitely got some replayability, especially for all the trophies.

Things I disliked about the game:

  • The boss battle in the end was weak and too easy compared to the rest of the fights.
  • Scarameches can be difficult to find. Destroying them all gives you the “Pest Control” trophy, though.
  • Camera and climbing is a bit like Uncharted or Enslaved: Odyssey to the West, but I got over it pretty quick. It’s their style for this game.

If you’ve never heard of the game, check out this video for some gameplay:

Overall I really enjoyed this game, I do intend on playing it again in new game plus with all my upgrades. 🙂  If you’re into futuristic stuff, you’ll really like this game.

My star rating? 7 out of 10 stars!

I hope you enjoy the game! Cheers!

Bitchin’ Gamer Girl

Leave a Reply

